KBS Annual Business Meeting Stavanger, June 8, 2012

- 1. Approval agenda (Elin Bye 1st, Sharon Wilsnack 2nd)
- 2. Approval of minutes of the 2011 meeting in Melbourne (Matilda Hellman 1st, Pia Makela 2nd)
- 3. Treasurer's report by Elin Bye. Last year, Debra Dawson donated 1,600 euros, 2580 Euros were received from Melbourne and membership fees received were 4755 Euro. Gifts and bank fees 325, OJ Skog award- 250, and support for Stavanger was 8000 Euro. The expected balance after the conference is 27,000 Euros. The number of paid members for various years is as follows: 2011 91, 2012 -73, 2013 -25. 91 members have not paid their fees for 2012.
- 4. A report from Hildeguun Sagvaag of 2012 meeting in Stavanger was given. About 170 papers were submitted, 216 registered and 29 registrants received travel support. Similar to other years, a substantial proportion of delegates did not submit their papers on time and about 10% were cancellations.
- 5. Nazarius Mbona Tumwesigye reported on developments in preparation for the 2013 conference in Kampala. Several institutions have indicated interest in providing financial support.
- 6. Future annual meetings. For 2015, Franca Beccaria presented on Torino, Italy to have the conference. She identified the University of Torino as the conference site, and accommodation is available in hotels within a 10 or 15 minute walk in a price range of 90 to 130 euros. The possibility of student housing will also be explored. A vote was taken and it was agreed to have the 2014 meeting in Torino. Five institutions have expressed interest in supporting the conference.
- 7. Possible future KBS meetings. Sungsoo Chun has expressed interest in hosting the conference in Seoul, Korea, Franca Beccaria has contacted some members during the meeting to explore new interests for 2015.
- 8. KBS and Alcohol industry relationship The Co-com discussed on the request raised to regulate the participation of the alcohol industry representatives at the Kettil Bruun Society meetings and voted against regulating participation of alcohol industry representatives at the KBS meeting. The need to guarantee free access to scientific knowledge and the logistic difficulties of regulating participation were underlying reasons for this decision.
- 9. New guidelines for thematic meetings have been approved. Three upcoming meetings are as follows:
 - a.Addiction what is the added value of the concept today?

 Colloquium of the University of Helsinki Centre for Research on Addictions,

 Control and Governance (CEACG), and Thematic Meeting of the Kettil Bruun
 Society.

Helsinki, Finland 14-17th October 2012

Local organizers: Pekka Sulkunen and Matilda Hellman

b.Gender, Alcohol, and Violence

XV International symposium on Tobacco, Alcohol, and Other Drugs

KBS Thematic meeting in association with the Brazilian Association on Studies of Alcohol and other Drugs

Rio de Janerio, 29-30 November-1 December 2012

KBS organizer: Florence Kerr-Correa

c. Alcohol Policy - AP16 as a thematic meeting KBS has agreed to be a sponsor.

Wednesday - Friday April 3-5, 2013 Washington DC USA

- 10. Franca Beccaria will attend the upcoming ICARA (International Confederation of Alcohol, Tobacco and Other Drugs Research Associations) meeting
- 11. Archiving of KBS papers. Papers of prior KBS meetings from 1990 to present have been assembled by Paul Lemmens. It was unanimously approved to archive these years only, using the most economical approach. The papers should be available to KBS members on a web site that can be accessed by KBS members and is password protected
- 12. Workshop reports There were 6 workshops this year but due to time restraints no reports were given.
- 13. The International Journal of Alcohol and Drug Research has released its first online volume. The Journal is interested in publishing the KBS abstracts. This was approved by a vote; however, participants should have a window of opportunity to either revise or decline to have their abstract published.
- 14. The members of the O-J Skog Award Committe are Kypros Kypri, Moira Plant, Jakob Demant, Matilda Hellman, and Gerald Gmel. Dike van de Mheen and Sylvia Kairouz have retired from this committee.
- 15. Next year is an election for members of the Co-com. Ingeborg Rossow, Maria Holmila and Moira Plant will seek out new candidates for the election next year.
- 16. Scott Macdonald has resigned as the Secretary and Sandra Kuntsche has agreed to take on this role.
- 17. Other business- No other issues were raised.