Call for Nominations:

Kettil Bruun Soci

Kettil Bruun Society Award for Advancement of International Research Collaboration

The Kettil Bruun Society members have decided to inaugurate this award, which may be awarded annually starting in 2021. The members decided on making a continuing series of awards after having voted a special award to Professor Sharon Wilsnack in recognition of her outstanding contribution to international work in the field over many years through GENACIS and other international collaborative projects.

The purpose of the award is to recognise outstanding and exemplary contributions to the advancement of international collaborations on social and epidemiological alcohol research. The scope of this field is broadly defined to include, for instance, historical and policy studies, epidemiology and other public health research, studies of the ecology and functioning of treatment systems, and studies in ethnography, economics, psychology, sociology and other social sciences carried out in the interest of public health and welfare. The contributions should include sustained efforts in building cross-national research networks or collaborative studies, as well as a substantial publication record as an author or co-author in the field. The collaborations will not necessarily have been within the Kettil Bruun Society, and an awardee is not necessarily a Kettil Bruun Society member. The plaque of the 2021 Award will be presented to the awardee in connection with the annual meeting of the Kettil Bruun Society, to be held as an electronic meeting in the first week of June, 2021.

This is a call for nominations for the 2021 Award, which should be submitted to the Selection Committee for the award by **15 January, 2021**. A nomination may be made by any member of the Kettil Bruun Society. It should include a statement of the candidate's contributions to the advancement of international research collaboration in the field, and a curriculum vitae of the candidate. It should be copied by email to each of the three members of the selection committee, as here identified:

Guilherme Borges, <u>guilhermeborges@gmail.com</u>; Neo Morojele, <u>nmorojele@uj.ca.za</u>; Robin Room, <u>r.room@latrobe.edu.au</u>